Last week, Freight Books read…

poor-thingsSo at the moment I’m still trekking through Alone in Berlin by Hans Fallada, but I’m always keen to do a wee book review on book review day! One of my favourite books of all time, and certainly my favourite by this author, is Poor Things by Alasdair Gray. I really just thought I should do a wee post to rave about how brilliant this book is, with its quirky and recognisably Alasdair artworks, and twisted but fascinating subject matter.

poorthingsThe stopoor things imagery follows the irresistible Bella Baxter, Archie McCandless and Godwin Baxter as they quarrel through an impossibly strange but delightful love triangle. The characters are totally bizarre, but also quite easy to relate to and understand. This is a wonderful story of courage and eccentricity in the medical profession, as well as love finding a way to prevail in the face of many obstacles. I love Alasdair’s use of language, and the Glasgow setting render it uncomfortably close to home (if you live in Glasgow that is). The images are really bizarre and mesmerising too! I highly recommend this to any fans of the weird and wonderful.

She is the swelling sail, trim rigging and bust sunlit deck of our matrimonial yacht. I am the low hull, with the invisible ballast and keel.

Leave a Reply

